Maple Crème Brûlée

IMG_0225

Life is full of tough decisions. But none was harder for me than selecting a baby stroller.

Seriously. Every other major choice – where to go to university, what career path to follow, where to settle down, when to start a family – seemed like a total cake walk in comparison.

It doesn’t make sense that picking a stroller is ten times more difficult than buying a car.  But it’s true.

True to my nature, I researched and researched some more. I consulted mommy blogs, Consumer Reports and surveyed every mom I knew.

I remember being about 8 months pregnant, standing in the middle of the stroller aisle of a crowded baby store. I was sweating, my back hurt, and my over-sized sweater was tangled in a half-folded stroller.

I was having one heck of a time trying to open and close one of the “easy to use” popular brands. I kept telling my husband: this one is pretty easy, I’ll get the hang of it.

It was then that my hubby gave me the best piece of advice. He told me to forget about price, style and brand. He said to imagine myself carrying ten grocery bags and crying baby in the middle of a parking lot, in the rain. If I couldn’t figure out how to work the demo stroller in the store, there’s no way I’d fare any better alone in that rainy parking lot.

I have to hand it to him. He was absolutely right. With that advice in mind, I was able to select a wonderful stroller that I’ve been putting to good use.

It’s nice to have a husband that can help you navigate through life’s hurdles, even the ones on four wheels. As a small way of saying thanks for being such a great partner and dad, I wanted to make him something especially delicious for our recent anniversary.

Inspired by a recent trip to a maple syrup festival, I decided to try Foodland Ontario’s recipe for Maple Crème  Brûlée . And I’m so glad I did! You’d expect this delicious decadent treat to be a lot more difficult, but it’s actually quite easy.

This is definitely something that I will be making again soon, especially when we have a company. Give it a try, enjoy!

Maple Crème  Brûlée

(from Foodland Ontario)

 

2 cups whipping cream

½ cup Ontario maple syrup

2 Ontario eggs

2 Ontario egg yolks

1 tablespoon vanilla

¼ packed brown sugar

 

In a small saucepan, heat cream and maple syrup over medium heat until small bubbles begin to form around the edges. Remove from heat.

In a large measuring cup, whisk eggs, egg yolks and vanilla until well blended. Gradually whisk hot cream mixture into egg mixture until blended.

Divide among six ¾ cup ramekins or custard cups. Set ramekins in shallow pan and place pan in oven. Pour in enough hot water in pan to come halfway up sides of ramekins.

Bake in 350 degree F oven for 30 to 35 minutes or until edges are set but centres still jiggle when gently shaken. Carefully remove from water; let cool. Cover and refrigerate for about 3 hours, until chilled and set, or for up to 2 days.

Just before serving, place ramekins on rimmed baking sheet; blot top of custards with paper towel to dry. Sprinkle sugar evenly over custards. Broil as close to heat source as possible until sugar melts and bubbles, about 30 to 60 seconds. Let cool to harden. [Note: if your oven has not been preheated, it’ll take a bit longer. I needed about 2-3 minutes for my sugar crust to set. Keep a very close eye on the custards so they don’t burn]

 

The starring ingredients begin with whipping cream…

Delicious maple syrup, of course!

Delicious maple syrup, of course!

Eggs (which make it quite appropriate for the Easter season too)

Eggs (which make it quite appropriate for the Easter season too)

Ra-ra-ramekins going for a swim.

Ra-ra-ramekins going for a swim.

Now dig in!

Now dig in!

 

Leave a comment