Freshly Brewed Cake

I don’t condone road rage, but I certainly understand it. You’re tired. You’ve worked an eleven-hour shift – on a Friday, no less. You have a sinus cold that is causing the right side of your face to throb. You’ve run out of Kleenex. There’s construction – everywhere. There are lane reductions beyond every street corner, and no one will let you merge. The highway onramp is backed up for blocks, and when you do make your way on, traffic is blazing at a steady rate of 5 kilometres per hour. And then an airport limousine cuts you off. So yes, I can see how even the most mild-mannered person can get a little worked up during a rush hour commute.

To release all that pent up frustration, some people yell, others curse, and some favour the one-finger wave. I, however, dealt with my Friday afternoon frustrations in a different way: I baked them out. And man, did it feel good!

For the past week, I’ve been sidelined from the kitchen because of a cold. So, I was really baking with a vengeance. I guess that’s why I tackled two birthday cakes and a batch of mini cheesecakes in one night.

Everyone seemed to like the crown of Oreos

Everyone seemed to like the crown of Oreos

This weekend we held a tri-birthday celebration for my sister, grandmother and uncle. I volunteered to bake my uncle’s favourite oreo cheesecake, which I blogged about a few weeks ago. This time, I made both mini-cheesecakes and a full-sized cake. I used the exact same batter, this time pouring it into an oreo-lined spring form pan and baking for about 35 minutes.

Instant coffee adds intense flavour

Instant coffee adds intense flavour

I also tried my hand at a great recipe from The Pioneer Woman for a coffee cake. Now, this wasn’t your traditional crumbly confection. Instead, it was literally a coffee-flavoured layer cake. It was a pretty simple recipe, and the end result was just delicious! The cake was moist and rich in coffee flavour. The icing was flecked with granules of coffee, and it was fluffier and tastier than any other recipe I’ve tried thus far.

The makings of what would become my favourite icing

The makings of what would become my favourite icing

The Pioneer Woman beautifully illustrates each step of her recipe with photos. This way, you can easily follow along and tell if something is amiss with your version of the dessert. Luckily, I got through the whole recipe without a glitch.

In the end, both cakes were a hit. And after all the dishes were done and the candles blown out, my angry Friday afternoon commute was no more than a distant memory.

 

Sporting a fresh coat of frosting

Sporting a fresh coat of frosting

 

Coffee Cake – Literally

For the Cake

2 cups flour
2 cups white sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 sticks (1 cup) regular (salted) butter
3 tablespoons instant coffee (I used Folger’s Crystals)
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 eggs
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons vanilla

For the Icing

1 1/2 sticks (3/4 cup) regular (salted) butter
1 pound powdered sugar
1 to 2 tablespoons instant coffee
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 to 4 tablespoons heavy cream (add as needed)

I can’t do the instructions justice if I retyped them without The Pioneer Woman’s photos. So check out her fully illustrated recipe here.

Coffee cake, freshly brewed!

Coffee cake, freshly brewed!

One thought on “Freshly Brewed Cake

  1. The Pioneer Woman is really good at laying out a recipe step by step, isn’t she? I love her photos! (In fact, I made her baked beans last night).

    Coffee flavoured cakes are very popular in England, and yours looks deeeelish.

Leave a Reply

