Temptation Thy Name is Oreo

When I went for my jog last night, temptation rested heavy on my shoulders – literally. After all, I was hauling a knapsack full of Oreos and cream cheese for most of my five kilometre route. No, I wasn’t using some kind of weird reverse psychology exercise tactic. Since my run takes me by a grocery store, I thought I’d make a pit stop to pick up some baking ingredients and save myself an extra car ride.

The cashier had me pegged right away. “She has to be making cheesecake. Can’t even wait for a sale.” I guess it was a reasonable assumption, considering I was buying four packages of cream cheese and three packages of Oreos.

The prospect of plain old cheesecake isn’t really enough to get my baking juices flowing. But when you add Oreos to the equation, I’m sold! Oreos are my favourite store bought cookie. One of the classic comfort foods, these cream-filled confections are deliciously versatile. They can be dunked in milk, crumbled in crust or blended in ice cream. And in this case, they’d be stirred into cheesecake batter.

Oreos more than stack up to the competition

Oreos more than stack up to the competition

Couldn't resist!

Couldn't resist!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found the recipe for Mini Oreo Cheesecakes on one of my favourite baking blogs, Pink Sugar Desserts. This blog is an absolute treat, with beautiful photos and wonderful dessert ideas.

The recipe was fairly simple. Blend cream cheese, vanilla, sugar, sour cream and eggs. Unfortunately, I had to stop mid-beat and rush off to the grocery store at 10 o’clock at night, when I saw our egg drawer was empty. Once the elusive eggs were blended, the mixture was poured into cupcake liners and tucked into the oven.

Whole cookie crust

Whole cookie crust

Sadly, I overcooked my first batch. In my own defence, I did follow the recipe’s cooking times. But I guess my convection oven had other ideas. At least the second batch came out ok!

Despite browned tops and slightly deformed shapes, the mini cheesecake tasted pretty good. They were rich and creamy, and best of all, they had a crunchy surprise. Buried beneath the batter was a whole Oreo, which served as the crust. This recipe is a keeper, but next time, I’m going to keep a more vigilant eye on my oven!

Here’s the recipe, which originally appeared in Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes: 175 Inspired Ideas for Everyone’s Favorite Treat.

Mini Oreo Cheesecakes

  • 4 packages of cream cheese (250 grams each) at room temp
  • 30 Oreo cookies plus 16 extra crushed
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 4 eggs at room temp
  • 1 cup of sour cream
  • Mini Oreos for garnish, if desired

 

  1. Preheat your oven to 275 degrees and line a muffin pan with cupcake liners.
  2. In a large bowl blend together the cream cheese and vanilla until fluffy and smooth, remembering to scrape down the sides. Pour in the sugar and blend well. Add in each egg one at a time beating until blended. Pour in the sour cream and continue to mix. Stir in the crushed Oreo bits and blend well.
  3. Place an Oreo cookie in the bottom of each liner and spoon the cheesecake mixture over each Oreo almost all the way to the top of each well.
  4. The original recipe suggested baking in the preheated oven for 12 minutes, rotating then baking for 12 more or until set. However, my convection oven only needed a 10-11 minute baking time for each stage.
  5. Cool in the pan for 5 minutes then on a rack until cooled completely. Keep in the fridge for at least 4 hours or overnight before serving. Garnish with mini Oreos, if desired.
A little goopy, but still good!

A little goopy, but still good!

Don't forget to let the cheesecakes set overnight

Don't forget to let the cheesecakes set overnight

A tasty quad

A tasty quad

Love the cookie crust!

Love the cookie crust!

3 thoughts on “Temptation Thy Name is Oreo

  1. Am currently watching my mini Oreo cheesecakes through the window on the oven…

    Read the entry this morning…thought about it all day at work…and just couldn’t resist!

    I have no clue how I’ll make it through the 4 hour chill though…may need to set my alarm clock for a midnight snack…

Leave a Reply

