Midnight Plum Cake

For some inexplicable reason, I am drawn to bouts of late night baking. Take tonight, for example. I guess I could have been out on the town, enjoying our unseasonably warm weather on a patio, drink in hand. But no. Instead, I drove to the grocery store at 9:30 p.m. to buy butter and sour cream, so I could whip up a plum cake.

Now don’t get me wrong – I am no Betty Crocker or Martha Stewart. I notoriously under-cream the butter and sugar, over-fold the eggs and have yet to beat egg whites into perfectly stiff peaks. But, I’m working on it.

I hope this blog will help track my progress, and generate a little advice from anyone out there in the baking blogosphere. So, here goes….

According to Martha, one of the season’s fruitful highlights is the plum. Sweet, tart and sensual in their colour, plums are perfect for mid-August desserts. And her Plum Cake, as featured in the September Issue of Everyday Food, looked just right for a dinner I’m going to at a friend’s house tonight.

The recipe was pretty straightforward. Though, I may or may not have “tented” the tinfoil at the appropriate time. And it turns out that plum pits are sharp, stubborn little buggers. One particularly belligerent pit managed to slice my thumb pretty good, whilst I tried to remove it.

I haven’t actually tasted the cake yet, but it looks pretty good. I’ll let you know how it turned out.

~gb

Plum Cake cooling at 1:15 a.m.

Plum Cake cooling at 1:15 a.m.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Up close and personal

Up close and personal

Leave a Reply

